• Home
  • Dan Martin Award

Dan Martin Award

Recognizing dedication to rural health


In June of 2003, the Kentucky Rural Health Association began a new tradition.  At the organization’s annual conference, it announced the first recipient of an award honoring a lifetime contribution to rural health in Kentucky; this recipient was Dr. Dan Martin of the Trover Foundation in Madisonville.  The annual award now bears his name and is given each year to an individual who has provided many years of service to rural Kentuckians.  The individual’s contributions might be in areas of direct patient care, health professions education, health administration, health promotion or public advocacy.

NOMINATIONS: OPEN – Will Close on August 30, 2024

The Board of Directors of the Kentucky Rural Health Association invites you to nominate an individual to be this year’s recipient of the Dan Martin Award. To nominate someone, please complete the virtual nomination form below.


Based on the responses and the criteria of the candidates received, the Dan Martin Award Committee makes recommendations to the KRHA Executive Committee, who then select the 2024 honoree. If someone is deemed appropriate, the award will be presented to the individual at the KRHA Annual Conference in November 2024.

There are many dedicated and compassionate people that work in rural health in Kentucky, and we look forward to being able to give them some well-deserved recognition. Now is your chance to help us thank someone that you think deserves recognition. We need and appreciate your input.

If you, as a KRHA member would like to serve on the Dan Martin Award Committee, please email Garrett Anspach at gban222@uky.edufor more information. Congratulations again to the most recent award recipient, Bill Grimes.


  • 2023 - William "Bill" Grime
  • 2022 - Robert Sprang
  • 2020 - Ernie Scott
  • 2019 - Susan Jones
  • 2018 - Dr. Mary Jane Humkey
  • 2017- Loretta Maldaner
  • 2016 - Fran Feltner
  • 2015 – Joseph E. Smith
  • 2014  - Dr. James Norton
  • 2013 -  Dr. Steve Davis
  • 2012 – Susan Starling
  • 2011 – Dr. Baretta Casey
  • 2010 – Bob Brooks
  • 2009 – Dr. Carroll Brooks
  • 2008 – Dr. Emery A. Wilson
  • 2007 – David Bolt
  • 2006 – Dr. O.A. Cull
  • 2005 – George E. Walz
  • 2004 – Dr. Rice Leach
  • 2003 – Dr. Dan Martin

© Kentucky Rural Health Association  | 750 Morton Boulevard |Hazard Kentucky 41701 |502-509-4451

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software