Improving the health of rural Kentuckians.

Our History

The Kentucky Rural Health Association began in 1999 as the vision of Dr. Wayne Myer, who at the time served the state as the Director of the UK Center of Excellence in Rural Health.  The concept was developed according to the National Rural Health Association and their state-level organizations, which dotted the United States. Mr. Robert (Bob) Brooks served as the first elected President of KRHA, along with a Board of Directors dedicated to the mission and vision of the organization.

In 1999 KRHA hosted it’s first annual Kentucky Rural Health Association Annual Conference in Bardstown, Kentucky. The first conference hosted a unique slate of rural focused presenters, with about 60 people in attendance. Today, the KRHA Annual Conference hosts a variety of state and national level speakers to an attendance of 300 health-focused professionals and health professions students.

Over the years, the UK Center of Excellence in Rural Health and the Kentucky Office of Rural Health continued to play an important role by providing administrative support to the Kentucky Rural Health Association. In 2013, after roughly 14 years of operation, the Kentucky Rural Health Association Board of Directors voted to introduce the first Executive Director position.

Through the efforts of a number of KRHA members the Executive Director position was developed and funded, with Tina McCormick being named as the first Executive Director on May 6, 2013.

Over the course of KRHA’s existence the landscape of rural health has seen drastic shifts including the Affordable Care Act and Managed Care Organizations. Through this all, KRHA has evolved to serve its’ members while staying true to the Mission and Vision of the organization – just as Dr. Myer had envisioned.

Past Presidents

While the President serves in this role for a one to two-year term, they additionally support the Board of Directors for an additional one-year term as President-Elect and an additional year as the Immediate-Past President. Please join us in thanking those who have served KRHA as President.

KaSandra Hanshaw                                                                                                                                                                                 

Elizabeth Snodgrass                                                                                                                                                                                           Ashley Gibson                                                                                                                                                                                                    Matt Hunt               

Noel Harilson                                                                                                                                                                                                Andrew Bledsoe                                                                                                                                                                                                Denise Bingham

Brent Wright
David Gross 
Sheri Erwin 
David Gross
Elizabeth Cobb 
Dwain Harris 
Kayla Rose 
Susan Starling 
David Bolt 
Jennifer NeSmith 
Dr. Gregory Bausch
Ms. Julie Watts 
Dr. James Norton 
Karkie Tackett 
Darlene Eakin 
Robert Brooks 

    Become a Member of our Association today! Apply Now!

    (C) Copyright Kentucky Rural Health Association

    "Kentucky Rural Health Association" is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 36 S Alvasia St, Henderson, KY 42420

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software