• Home
  • Ernie Scott Leadership Award

Ernie Scott Leadership Award

Recognizing leaders who inspire others to build
healthier and stronger rural communities


The Ernie Scott Leadership Award seeks to recognize individuals who, like Ernie, have dedicated themselves to improving rural healthcare and have made a lasting impact on the lives of rural residents. Through their commitment, expertise, leadership, and optimism, they continue Ernie's legacy and inspire others to work towards building healthier and stronger rural communities. 

NOMINATIONS: OPEN – Will Close on August 30th, 2024 

The Board of Directors of the Kentucky Rural Health Association invites you to nominate an individual to be this year’s recipient of the Ernie Scott Leadership Award. To nominate someone, please complete the virtual nomination form below. 

Ernie Scott Leadership Award Nomination Form 


To be eligible for this award, candidates should possess a deep understanding of the unique challenges and needs of rural healthcare and have a demonstrated commitment to addressing them. The recipient of the Ernie Scott Leadership Award must have a proven track record of dedicating themselves to serving rural communities with unwavering passion and commitment, just as Ernie Scott did. 

Additional qualifications include: 

· Impactful Contributions: The award recipient should have made significant contributions to the field of rural healthcare, leaving a lasting impact on the lives of individuals and communities. Their work should have transformed the landscape of rural healthcare, improving access, quality, and outcomes for rural residents. 

· Expertise and Knowledge: The award recipient should possess a wealth of knowledge and expertise in rural healthcare, gained through years of experience in various healthcare settings. They should have a strong understanding of the complexities of rural healthcare delivery, as well as the ability to navigate and collaborate with diverse stakeholders. 

· Leadership and Collaboration: The recipient should have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills, inspiring and motivating others to work towards the betterment of rural healthcare. They should have a proven ability to collaborate with different organizations, individuals, and communities to achieve common goals and drive positive change. 

· Communication and Dissemination: The award recipient should have a strong commitment to the dissemination of vital information and resources to rural communities. They should have effective communication skills, with the ability to clearly articulate complex healthcare issues and engage with diverse audiences. 

· Optimism and Resilience: The recipient should embody the positive spirit and resilience that Ernie Scott demonstrated throughout his life. They should be able to maintain a positive attitude even in the face of challenges, serving as a beacon of hope and inspiration for others.  

Based on the responses and the criteria of the candidates received, the Dan Martin Award Committee makes recommendations to the KRHA Executive Committee, who then select the 2024 honoree. If someone is deemed appropriate, the award will be presented to the individual at the KRHA Annual Conference in November 2024. 

There are many dedicated and compassionate people that work in rural health in Kentucky, and we look forward to being able to give them some well-deserved recognition. Now is your chance to help us thank someone that you think deserves recognition. We need and appreciate your input. 

If you, as a KRHA member would like to serve on the Ernie Scott Award Committee, please email Garrett Anspach at gban222@uky.edu for more information. Congratulations again to the most recent award recipient, Mike Caudill 


  • 2023 - L.M. "Mike" Caudil

© Kentucky Rural Health Association  | 750 Morton Boulevard |Hazard Kentucky 41701 |502-509-4451

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software